Poster Presentation: Thyroid Cancer Campaign & Prototypes

What is the most effective object to associate with an awareness campaign for a thyroid cancer in the young adult demographic?

devices This term, I have been exploring why there is a lack of awareness of thyroid cancer, what health merchandise objects are and how medical diseases turn into brands. Today, I presented my final project which was a poster presentation and also included 4 iPhone and 1 iPad case prototypes that I created.

IMG_0099_Fotor_CollageOn October 16th, 2013, I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer, and being able to create something positive and meaningful from a terrible diagnosis has been an extremely valuable and importance experience for me at this point in my journey. It has been really interesting and informative to see the progress of my research and being able to have prototype designs from all of my hard work this term.

The handmade device cases resemble the shape of the thyroid gland and use the thyroid cancer colors (purple, pink, teal). My favorite design would be the iPad because you can really see how it looks like the IMG_0099_Fotor_Collage2full thyroid gland.

I would really like to reach out to Thyroid Cancer Canada or ThyCa and look into the possibilities of selling the device cases. Judging from the feedback today, a lot of my classmates and friends would purchase the devices, which is great news! The cases are unique and authentic, and also convey the message of thyroid cancer awareness effectively.

Here is my poster in a PDF. A brochure was also created which includes a link to a live survey. The survey asks individuals who viewed my poster presentation what their knowledge of thyroid cancer was prior to seeing my poster, whether or not they would consider buying the cases, and any other thoughts/comments they have.  Also, here is my reflection assignment for this course.

Post-Presentation Survey Results:

1. Before seeing the poster and brochure, what did you know about thyroid cancer?

“Deals with the throat, if surgery is done wrong – speech is at risk. Higher in women”
“Nothing”
“I knew that thyroid cancer existed, but had no idea that it was being discovered in people my age (I am also 20).”
“To be honest, not too much. I knew a little bit about thyroid disorders – but not thyroid cancer”

2. Would you purchase the iPad and iPhone cases that were on display?

“Yes!”
“I loved the iPad one and how it actually looked like the thyroid gland.The four different iPhone cases were also very cool and nice to see all the different styles”
“Definitly – they are beautiful and handmade, which I love!”
“Absolutely – they are stunning and I loved seeing something very abstract, but still conveyed the message and my support”

3. General thoughts, comments or feedback:

“This was very informative and I’ve learned a lot of things about thyroid cancer.”
“Simone – thanks to you, I will be getting my thyroid and neck checked at my next physical. Thank you for all your hard work and for being so brave and courageous to speak about your experience with fighting thyroid cancer, and I hope that you get well as soon as possible”
“Congratulations on an awesome project. Fight this cancer and start making these phone cases…I can’t wait to buy one!”

Leave a Reply

